Skip to main content

2017 High Falls Film Festival

Cinematographer Nancy Schreiber, ASC to be honored with Susan B. Anthony “Failure Is Impossible” Award

Posted October 17th, 2017 by Kate Herrmann in Uncategorized


The High Falls Film Festival is proud to present the 2017 Susan B. Anthony “Failure Is Impossible” Award to Nancy Schreiber, ASC in recognition of her outstanding contributions to the art of filmmaking as one of the few female cinematographers in the industry. Nancy is an award-winning cinematographer based in both New York and Los Angeles. She was the fourth woman ever voted into membership into the prestigious American Society of Cinematographers and was recently the recipient of the President’s Award from the ASC, the first woman ever to receive this award.


Schreiber has also been honored with the Best Dramatic Cinematography Award at the Sundance Film Festival for the film “November,” directed by Greg Harrison and starring Courteney Cox. She also shared the Best Cinematography Award at Sundance for “My America…Or Honk If You Love Buddah,” and garnered an Emmy nomination for Best Cinematography on the acclaimed “Celluloid Closet” for HBO. In addition, Schreiber has been nominated for an Independent Spirit Award for “Chain of Desire” and was recognized in 2000 by Variety magazine as one of “10 DPs to Watch.” Schreiber was chosen as director of photography for “Visions of Light,” a stunning documentary on the art of cinematography, an early high definition film. Schreiber’s work in television was recently seen on ABC’s “The Family” with Joan Allen and Alison Pill, and the FX show, “Better Things”, staring Pamela Adlon, produced by Louie C.K. She photographed numerous films premiering at Sundance including: “The Nines,” for John August, with Ryan Reynolds, Melissa McCarthy, Hope Davis and Octavia Spencer; “Motherhood” with Uma Thurman; and “Loverboy” directed by Kevin Bacon, with Kyra Sedgwick, Sandra Bullock, Matt Dillon and Marissa Tomei. Additional independent films she shot include: “Serious Moonlight” with Meg Ryan, Tim Hutton, Justin Long and Kristin Bell (Tribeca), “Everyday,” directed by Richard Levine, with Helen Hunt, Liev Schreiber, Brian Dennehy, Carla Gugino and Eddie Izzard (Tribeca); as well as Neil LaBute’s “Your Friends and Neighbors, “with Ben Stiller, Catherine Keener, Aaron Eckhart, Amy Brenneman, Jason Patric and Natasha Kinski.


Schreiber taught advanced cinematography at the American Film Institute in 2010-2011.  She also served on the board of the ASC for seven years, was on the foundation board of Women In Film, is a huge supporter and member of Film Independent, IFP and IDA, and is a member of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.


Tickets are now on sale  for the formal awards presentation on Thursday November 2nd in Little Theatre #1 with a celebration of Nancy’s work and a Q&A to follow. Please click here to purchase. The program is generously sponsored by Kodak.