Festival Awards

Audience Choice Awards


Best Feature & Best Cinematography,
Feature: Show Me What You Got
Best Documentary: The Condor & The Eagle

Best Feature: Saint Judy
Best Documentary: Fiddlin’

Best Feature: D-Love
Best Documentary: Blood Road

Best Feature: Sugar!
Best Documentary: My Love Affair with the Brain

Best Feature: The Lennon Report
Best Documentary: Yemeniettes

Best Feature: The Park Bench
Best Documentary: Cyber-Seniors

Best Feature: Margarita
Best Documentary:  The Girls In the Band

Best Feature: The First Grader
Best Documentary: Bill Cunningham New York

Best Feature: Welcome
Best Documentary: Waiting For “Superman”

Best Feature: Skin
Best Documentary: Signs Of The Time

Best Feature: Phoebe in Wonderland
Best Documentary: Autism: The Musical

Best Feature: The Lives Of Others
Best Documentary: American Blackout

Best Feature: The World’s Fastest Indian
Best Documentary: Christa Mcauliffe: Reach For The Stars

Best Feature: Dear Frankie
Best Documentary: Born Into Brothels

Best Feature: In America
Best Documentary: My Architect

Best Feature: Nowhere In Africa
Best Documentary: Blue Vinyl

Best Feature: No Man’s Land
Best Documentary: Southern Comfort

The Susan B. Anthony “Failure is Impossible” Award

Honors a woman in the film industry who has persevered in her career and triumphed over difficulties.

2017: Cinematographer Nancy Schreiber, ASC

2011: Director/filmmaker Julie Taymor

2010: Film Editor Thelma Schoonmaker

2009: Actors Lynn Redgrave and CCH Pounder

2008: Actor Rita Moreno

2006: Director Agnieszka Holland

2005: Actor Angela Bassett

2004: Actor Sally Kellerman

2003: Actor Candice Bergen

2002: Actor Lainie Kazan

2001: Actor Pam Grier

The Rochester Film Legacy Award

Honors a filmmaker or film supporter based in the Rochester area whose passion and dedication embodies Rochester’s proud film legacy.

2019: Jack Garner

2016: June Foster

2015: Marilyn O’Connor

2011: Brock Yates

The Elizabeth Cady Stanton “Thorn in the Side” Award

Honors women who exemplify the collaborative nature of film and video. The award is named in honor of Stanton, who said: “If there is one part of my life which gives me more intense satisfaction than another, it is my friendship with Susan B. Anthony… we have indeed been thorns in the side of each other…”

2019: Catherine Wyler, founding Artistic Director, High Falls Film Festival

2009: Debra Zimmerman

2008: Estela Bravo, director

2006: Stella Pence, (retired) Co-Director, Telluride Film Festival

The Therese DePrez Award for Outstanding Production Design

Pays tribute to Rochester born award-winning production designer Therese DePrez’s memory and legacy while inspiring a new generation of women in the industry.

2019: Adri Siriwatt – Go Back to China

2018: Sally Del Castillo – Darcy

The Faith Hubley “Web of Life” Award

Named after its first recipient, honors a woman who understands the power of art in connecting with an audience and in making the world a better place.

2005: Jane Alexander, actor

2004: Mira Nair, filmmaker

2003: Jeannie Epper, stuntwoman

2002: Nancy Cartwright, voice actor

2001: Faith Hubley, animator

The Golden Lens Award for Cinematography

Honors a person who has made creative contributions of outstanding artistic significance to the field of cinematography.

         2011: Buddy Squires